Rules 10 min read Updated Aug 26, 2026

Payout minimums, caps and buffers: why the withdrawal button is greyed out

A $53,000 balance on a $50,000 funded account reads as $3,000 of profit, and the form can still refuse a $1,000 request: if the plan holds a $2,100 floor under the balance, $900 is requestable. Three published numbers settle it (the minimum request, the per-request cap and the balance floor you may not withdraw below) and each is published per plan and per account size rather than once per firm. Knowing which of the three is binding is the difference between trading toward $100 more of profit and waiting a week for a button that was never going to light.

In this guide

The short answer

Start here

Compute requestable cash as current balance minus the plan's balance floor (the buffer, safety-net or minimum-balance line), check that figure against your plan's minimum request, then trim it to the per-request cap for the payout number you are on. On the worked account the chain reads $53,000 − $52,100 = $900, which fails a $1,000 minimum by $100 and never reaches the cap. If a plan's payout policy does not state one of the three, treat it as unknown and get it in writing from the firm's support before you plan around it.

What matters

  • Subtract the balance floor before you count profit: $53,000 on a $50,000 account with a $52,100 floor is $900 of requestable cash, and a $1,000 minimum still blocks it.
  • Read the minimum and the cap off the payout policy written for the exact plan and account size you hold. One firm can publish a different minimum for each plan, and a different one for each size inside a plan.
  • Plan a withdrawal as a sequence of requests: $2,900 above the floor under a $1,500 first-request cap is two requests, and on a plan that concludes the account after a set number of rewards that sequence is also the seat's lifetime ceiling.
  • Treat a missing minimum, cap or cycle length as a question for the firm's support before you rely on it. An unpublished number is unknown, and a trader who reads it as zero budgets a payout that cannot be requested.

1

Three published numbers stand between profit and cash

The balance floor carries several names across published policies (buffer, safety net, minimum balance to request) and computes the same way in each: the firm draws a line above your starting balance and treats everything under it as untouchable while the account is open. One published form is the starting balance plus the account's max loss limit plus a small margin, which is how the worked account lands at $52,100 on a $50,000 start with a $2,000 max loss. Requestable cash is balance minus that line, so $53,000 leaves $900 no matter what the profit column says.

The other two numbers bracket a single request from below and above. The minimum request is the smallest amount the form will accept, so cash can sit above the floor and still be unrequestable, $900 against a $1,000 minimum is a dead button with money in the account. The per-request cap is the largest amount one request may carry, published as a dollar figure, as a share of profit or balance, or as both at once, in which case the smaller of the two binds.

None of the three is evaluated until eligibility has flipped. Where a plan publishes a qualifying-day count, the days that count are defined by a minimum daily profit, so a $12 green day adds nothing to the tally; where a plan publishes a consistency percentage measured since your last payout, one outsized day can defer the request instead of failing the account. A greyed button before the day count is met is a calendar problem with a date attached. After it, the block is one of the three dollar gates, and each points at a different action.

  • Balance floor. The line you may not withdraw below: requestable = current balance − floor.
  • Minimum request, the smallest single request the form accepts; below it, cash above the floor stays put.
  • Per-request cap, the largest single request, in dollars, as a share of profit or balance, or the smaller of both.

2

Why the minimum moves between two accounts at the same firm

Payout policies are written per plan, because the plans are different products: an instant-funding seat, a subscription evaluation and a one-step account can sit under one brand with three separate payout pages. Inside a plan the minimum is then scaled by account size, because it is indexed to the same size ladder as the drawdown and the profit target. The worked $1,000 minimum is therefore a plan-and-size cell, and moving the same trader to another size or another plan at that firm changes the cell in either direction.

A firm-level minimum is an artifact of whichever page the writer happened to read, and it fails in one direction: flattening a per-size ladder to its lowest rung tells the trader on the largest account that a few hundred dollars will clear when the real gate is four figures, and the largest account is exactly the trader planning around the number. NANO stores these as per-plan cells for that reason, and stores an unknown where the firm's terms do not state one.

Cycle length is the number most likely to be invented. Where a plan publishes a fixed cycle (a set number of days between requests, or a daily request window) that is a cell you can schedule against. Where a plan publishes none, there is no cycle to plan around, and an empty field is the honest record of that. The same applies to a plan that publishes a minimum but no cap: the cap is unknown, which is a question for support, answered in writing before the first request; a rejection is an expensive way to learn it.

3

Caps indexed to the payout number, and the schedule they write

The wrong move here is reading a surplus as a withdrawal. Take the worked account to $55,000 against the same $52,100 floor: $2,900 sits above the line, and a $1,500 cap on the first request sends $1,400 of it forward. When the second request lands depends on the plan's eligibility rules (the day count, the consistency check, any cycle length) so the extraction rate is bounded by the policy rather than by how well the account trades.

On plans that index the cap to the payout number, the cap is a ladder: a lower ceiling on the first request, rising on the second, third and beyond. Read the row for the request you are actually making; the highest figure on the page belongs to a payout several requests away. Some plans also publish a percentage ceiling alongside the dollar row (half the profit since the last payout, or half the balance) and when both apply, the request is trimmed to whichever computes smaller.

The last constraint is a count. Where a plan publishes a maximum number of rewards, reaching it concludes the account and the seat closes, which converts the cap ladder into a lifetime ceiling: the worked ladder of $1,500, $1,500, $2,000, $2,500 and $2,500 tops out at $10,000 from that seat. That figure belongs next to what the seat cost to acquire and maintain, because it is the ceiling on what the account can ever return, and on plans that publish no such count, the ceiling is simply not stated, which is a different fact from there being none.

Worked example

Assumptions, not a forecast

A funded account with $3,000 of profit and a dead button

  • Hypothetical plan used only to show the arithmetic: $50,000 starting balance, $2,000 max loss limit.
  • Balance floor (hypothetical): starting balance + max loss limit + $100 = $52,100.
  • Minimum request (hypothetical): $1,000. Per-request cap ladder (hypothetical): $1,500, $1,500, $2,000, $2,500, $2,500, with the account concluding after the fifth reward.
  • Current balance $53,000, and every qualifying day the plan requires has already been cleared.

Requestable cash is $53,000 − $52,100 = $900, so a $1,000 minimum blocks the request that $3,000 of headline profit looks like it should clear; $100 more of realised profit is what turns the button on. At a $55,000 balance the same floor leaves $2,900, of which the first request carries $1,500 and the next $1,400. Across the full ladder the seat returns $1,500 + $1,500 + $2,000 + $2,500 + $2,500 = $10,000 before it concludes.

Every figure above is hypothetical and chosen to show the mechanism; each plan publishes its own, and some publish none. Clearing the three dollar gates only makes the request submittable; approval stays a separate decision, and a consistency or rule review can defer a request the arithmetic allows.

Tool tutorial

Check the three gates before you request

About two minutes
  1. 1

    Open the payout policy written for your exact plan and account size, and copy three numbers: minimum request, maximum for the payout number you are on, and the balance floor. A number absent from the page is unknown: mark it as such and ask support in writing, because zero is the one reading that is certainly wrong.

  2. 2

    Compute requestable cash as current balance minus the balance floor. That figure is what the form accepts, and it sits below the profit line you have been watching: $53,000 against a $52,100 floor is $900.

  3. 3

    Compare it to the minimum. Short of it, the decision is how much more realised profit you need, $100 in the worked case, and whether that is one session or one month at the size you trade. Clear of it, move to the cap.

  4. 4

    Trim the request to the cap for that payout number and count how many requests the surplus takes. If the plan publishes a maximum number of rewards, that count is the ceiling on the seat and belongs in the decision to keep paying for it.

  5. 5

    Log the request date in NANO when you send it and the received date when the money lands. The wait between those two is the part of this a member can actually measure.

Payout Truth Tracker Free account

Measure the wait after approval, from dated evidence

Payout Truth aggregates member-logged request and received dates into per-firm median and 90th-percentile waits, holding every figure blank until at least five distinct members back it, and keeps your own logged waits in the same units beside them.

Account required; no paid plan. It measures the wait after approval and nothing before it, the minimum, cap and balance floor come from your plan's own payout policy, and a firm shows no figure at all until five distinct members have logged dated payouts there.

Evidence boundary

What NANO can and cannot know

NANO records published payout terms as each firm publishes them, per plan where the firm splits by plan, and leaves a cell unknown where the terms do not state it, a blank marks a gap in the published record. It cannot approve, chase or predict a payout, cannot see your firm account or balance, and will not supply a cycle length a plan never published.

Common questions

Why can't I withdraw from my funded account when it is in profit?
Because profit above your starting balance and cash above the plan's balance floor are two different amounts. The worked account carries $3,000 of the first and $900 of the second against a $1,000 minimum. Check the floor, then the minimum, then whether the qualifying-day count has actually been reached: where a plan defines a qualifying day by a minimum daily profit, small green days add nothing to the tally.
What is the minimum payout amount at a prop firm?
There is no single figure to give, because minimums are published per plan and per account size and some plans publish none at all. One number here would be wrong for most readers holding a different plan. Read the payout policy for the plan and size you actually hold, and if it states no minimum, ask the firm's support in writing before you assume there is none.
Can I withdraw the whole balance in one request?
Only on a plan that publishes no per-request cap, and never the part sitting under the balance floor, which stays in the account while it is open. Where a cap exists the request is trimmed to it and the remainder waits for the next one: $2,900 above the floor under a $1,500 cap comes out as $1,500, then $1,400.
Do payout caps get bigger with each payout?
On plans that index the cap to the payout number, yes. The ladder starts lower on the first request and rises on later ones, which is why the worked ladder runs $1,500 up to $2,500. Read the row for the request you are making now; the highest figure on the page belongs to a payout you have not reached, and on a plan with a maximum number of rewards the ladder also sums to the seat's lifetime ceiling.
How long does an approved payout take to arrive?
That is a measurement, and NANO publishes a firm's median and 90th-percentile wait only once at least five distinct members have logged both dates there, several firms are still under that threshold, so their cells are blank today. Until a firm clears it, plan against the processing window the firm states in its own terms, and log your request and received dates so your next answer rests on your own dated evidence.